NPP Decides: Yakubu Yussif wins Tamale South primaries

The Programs Manager at the Ministry of Business Development, Hon Yakubu Yussif has won the NPP parliamentary primaries in the Tamale South constituency going into the 2020 general elections.

Mr. Yussif gathered a total of 402 votes with his closest contender, Fuseini Iddrisu securing 326 whilst the third aspirant managing only 91 votes.

The outcome of the NPP delegates’ conference on Saturday, 28 September, 2019, means the NPP candidate will once again compete with the minority leader of Ghana’s parliament, Hon Haruna Iddrisu in the next general elections.

The duo led their respective political parties into the 2016 parliamentary elections; and Mr. Yakubu Yussif managed to increase some three thousand popular votes to the NPP.

In the northern region, the NPP organized its constituency delegates’ conference in nine orphan constituencies. The deputy Energy Minister, Dr Mohammed Amin Adam won the Karaga contest with landslide margin.

Other stalwarts in the Akufo Addo government including the Chief Executive for the Nations Builders Corp, Dr Ibrahim Anyars Imoro won the Tamale Central elections.

The deputy Minister of the Northern Region and former Member of Parliament of Zabzugu, Hon Bennam John Jabaah also won the Zabzugu race. The Northern Regional Coordinator of the Ghana School Feeding Program, Felicia Tetteh is the only female candidate to win the Sagnarigu primaries.

Source: Gadafi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *