NPP Primaries: Dahamani beat Osafo Maafo boy

The 2012 Independent Member of Parliament for the Tamale North constituency, Hon Alhassan Dahamani (Haliya Haliya) has won the governing New Patriotic Party Tamale North Parliamentary contest in the northern region.

The former legislator recently defected to the NPP after leaving the opposition National Democratic Congress to contest the 2012 elections and eventually unseated the late Hon Abukari Sumani.

Mr. Dahamani defeated a Senior Economist at the office of the Senior Minister, Yaw Osafo Maafo. He secured 193 votes of the total votes cast beating his only contender, Mr. Adam Habib who got 155 votes.

Mr. Adam Habib (Right), Senior Economist at the office of the Senior Minister

The NPP today Saturday, 28 September, 2019, organized constituency delegates’ conference in nine orphan constituencies in the northern region.

Voting commence at all centers in the Tamale North, Tamale Central, Tamale South, Sagnarigu, Kumbungu, Tatali/Sanguli, Mion, Zabzugu, and Karaga constituencies. About 28 aspirants were cleared by the parliamentary vetting committee to contest in the northern region.

Source: Gadafi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *